JMU Jazz Band

Woodwinds

Kyle Fauber, alto sax Tim DeSimone, alto 2 Anthony Hoang, tenor 1 Rachel Broyles, tenor 2

Trumpets

Will Jones, split lead Ben Pryse, split lead Josh Souders, trumpet 2 Sophie Harrison, trumpet 3 John Heffler, trumpet 4

Trombones

Nathan Michaels, lead trombone Robert Jackson, trombone 2 Simon Fogelson, trombone 3 Dan Wash, bass trombone

Rhythm

Patrick Dahlman, piano Joseph Nichols, bass Chris Hoffman, drums Josh Cummings, drums

JMU Jazz Ensemble

Soprano

Olivia Mullins

Woodwinds

Peter Burkholder: alto/sop sax, clarinet Joseph McNure: alto sax, bass clarinet Corey Martin: tenor sax, clarinet Jeremy Rechner: tenor sax, clarinet Emma Guy: baritone sax, clarinet Sara Zhu: flute, piccolo

Trumpets

Charlie Frise Eli Goldstein Nick Adams Elizabeth Vaughn Will Jones

<u>Trombones</u>

Ryan Doherty Shawn Davern Cody Logan Nick Warmuth Evan Amaroso, bass

Rhythm Section

Douglas Ritcher, piano Cameron Tran, guitar Neal Perrine, bass Samm Sibert, drums

FORBES CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY.

School of Music

presents

Fall Semester Jazz Concert

featuring

JMU Jazz Band Steve Layman, *director*

and

JMU Jazz Ensemble Chuck Dotas, director

Tuesday, December 5, 2017 8 pm Concert Hall



There will be one 15-minute intermission.

Program Jazz Band

Program

Jazz Ensemble

Fantail Neal Hefti

trans. by Dick Domek

Patrick Dahlman, piano Kyle Fauber, alto sax Chris Hoffman, drums

Studio J Toshiko Akiyoshi

Patrick Dahlman, piano Anthony Hoang, tenor sax Nathan Michaels, trombone Josh Souders, trumpet

Send in the Clowns Stephen Sondheim

arr. by Dave Bardhun

Patrick Dahlman, piano Josh Souders, trumpet

Maiden Voyage Herbie Hancock

arr. by Mark Taylor

Joseph Nichols, electric bass Anthony Hoang, tenor saxophone Dan Wash, trombone Jay Fenner, baritone saxophone

Randi Phil Woods

Saxophone section feature Robert Jackson, *trombone*

Marguarite Sammy Nestico

Anthony Hoang, tenor saxophone Josh Souders, trumpet Tim DeSimone, alto saxophone

High Maintenance Gordon Goodwin

Kyle Fauber, alto saxophone Anthony Hoang, tenor saxophone Josh Cummings, drums

15-Minute Intermission

Three and One

Thad Jones

Eli Goldstein, trumpet Shawn Davern, trombone Neal Perrine, bass

The Strawberry

Myra Melford arr. Ted Nash

Corey Martin, tenor sax Eli Goldstein, trumpet Douglas Ritcher, piano

Come Rain or Come Shine

Harold Arlen

arr. Bob Brookmeyer

Olivia Mullins, soprano Corey Martin, tenor sax

Speak Low Kurt Weill

arr. Rob Hudson

Peter Burkholder, alto sax

Union Mike Conrad

Olivia Mullins, soprano Ryan Doherty, trombone Evan Amaroso, bass trombone Peter Burkholder, alto sax

Black Market Joseph Zawinul

arr. Shawn Davern

Cameron Tran, guitar Shawn Davern, director

Patrons are reminded to turn off all pagers, cell phones, personal computers, and any other electronic devices.

The unauthorized videotaping or any other recording of this production is strictly prohibited in adherence with Federal copyright laws.