Personnel

JMU Jazz Band

Woodwinds

Rachel Bryoles, alto saxophone Kyle Fauber, alto saxophone Jay Fenner, tenor saxophone Noah Galbreath, tenor saxophone Sarah Humphreys, clarinet Brandon Rhinehart, baritone saxophone Sara Zhu, flute

Trombones

William Crowson, bass trombone Simon Fogleson Robert Jackson Chandler McLaughlin Nathan Michaels

Horns

Joshua Almond Lincoln Marquis IV

<u>Tuba</u>

Kai Smith

Trumpets

Megan George Sophie Harrison Ben Pryse Josh Souders Allie Woodbury

Rhythm

Patrick Dahlman, piano Joseph Nichols, bass Christopher Hoffman, drums Tyler Schafer, drums/percussion

JMU Jazz Ensemble

Voice

Olivia Mullins

Woodwinds

Joseph McNure, alto/sop sax Tim DeSimone, alto/sop sax Jeremy Rechner, tenor sax Anthony Hoang, tenor sax Emma Guy, bari sax/bass clarinet Sara Zhu, flute Rebecca Kenaga, clarinet

Trumpets

Charlie Frise Eli Goldstein Elizabeth Vaughn Nick Adams Will Jones

Trombones

Ryan Doherty Shawn Davern Cody Logan Evan Amoroso, bass trombone

Rhythm Section

Douglas Ritcher, piano Patrick Dahlman, piano Cameron Tran, guitar Neal Perrine, bass Joseph Nichols, bass Samm Sibert, drums Josh Cummins, vibraphone

FORBES CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY.

School of Music

presents the

JMU Jazz Band Dave Stringham, director

JMU Jazz Ensemble Chuck Dotas, *director*

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 8 pm Concert Hall



There will be one 15-minute intermission.

JMU Jazz Band Dave Stringham, director

JMU Jazz Ensemble Chuck Dotas, director

Love Walked In

George & Ira Gershwin arr. Kim Richmond

Noah Galbreath, tenor saxophone Christopher Hoffman, drums

Jamie Sammy Nestico

Josh Souders, trumpet

Spectrum **Bob Mintzer**

Noah Galbreath, tenor saxophone

Paul Smoker Love Is

C.P. Samba Shelly Berg

Patrick Dahlman, piano

15-Minute Intermission

Patrons are reminded to turn off all pagers, cell phones, personal computers, and any other electronic devices.

The unauthorized videotaping or any other recording of this production is strictly prohibited in adherence with Federal copyright laws.

Mad Nomad(s)

Henri Texier arr. Chuck Dotas

Eli Goldstein, trumpet Shawn Davern, trombone Cameron Tran, guitar

Ad Parnassum

Jim McNeely

Doug Ritcher, piano

Voodoo

Jimmy Giuffre arr. Joe Sullivan

Neal Perrine, bass Eli Goldstein, trumpet

Song for Sathima

Abdullah Ibrahim

arr. Chuck Dotas

Anthony Hoang, tenor sax Emma Guy, bari sax Nick Adams, flugelhorn Joseph McNure, alto sax

This Can't Be Love

Rodgers/Hart

arr. Chuck Dotas

Olivia Mullins, voice Jeremy Rechner, tenor sax

Myself When I am Mingus

Brian Stark

Ryan Doherty, trombone Shawn Davern, trombone Cody Logan, trombone Evan Amoroso, bass trombone